ASA Elects New Board of Directors Members

Alexandria, VA – Four members of the American Sportfishing Association (ASA) were elected to fill two At-Large seats and two regional seats on the board of directors. Their terms begin October 1, 2018, and they each will serve three-year terms. ASA is the trade association that represents the recreational fishing industry.

At-Large seats went to:
  • Dave Pfeiffer, President, Shimano North American Fishing, Inc.
    Returning board member – served multiple terms including board Chairman
  • Dale Barnes, Division Manager, Marketing, Yamaha Motor Corporation, Marine Group – New board member
Regional seats went to:
  • Northeast Region – Patrick Gill, CEO, TackleDirect  – New board member
  • South Central Region – Steve Smits, President, ZEBCO Brands  –  New board member

“I am encouraged and enthusiastic about the incoming board members,” said ASA President Glenn Hughes. “These individuals have diverse backgrounds with decades of experience in sales, marketing and manufacturing in the fishing and boating industries. I’m sure that all four will add tremendous value to our already very strong board of directors.”

Dave Pfeiffer, President, Shimano North American Fishing, Inc., has more than 30 years working for Shimano and has been active with ASA since 1999, serving as board Chairman from 2005 – 2006. Dave helped spearhead ASA’s influential Keep Florida Fishing initiative during his last term on the board. In the past and going forward, Dave’s efforts in assuring fishing access and increasing fishing participation always will be at the forefront.

Dale Barnes, Division Manager, Marketing, with Yamaha’s Motor Corporation Marine Group, has spent his entire career in the fishing tackle and marine industries. He believes that ASA is a key leader during these critical times and that the fishing and marine industries need to work together for our collective future.

Patrick Gill, CEO of TackleDirect, comes from a fishing family whose grandfather owned a bait and tackle shop. He knows that it takes hard work and good leadership to have a thriving industry. He believes that an effective trade association needs to listen to the concerns of its members to make informed decisions that help secure the industry now and for the future.

Steve Smits, President, ZEBCO Brands, believes that the industry’s most pressing responsibility is to help grow the sport, working in concert with state agencies, retailers and conservation groups under the “60 in 60” campaign. He is committed to advocating for all the association’s members.

The current members of the board of directors are: Executive Committee – Kirk Immens, President, Sportco Marketing, Inc., Chairman; Chris Megan, Publisher, On the Water, LLC, Vice Chairman; Zack Swanson, Vice President, Sales, Rapala, Secretary; Peter Foley, President, Boone Bait Company, Inc., Treasurer Emeritus; Dave Bulthuis, Vice President of Government Affairs, Costa, Immediate Past Chairman; and Gary Remensnyder, President, Lew’s Fishing Tackle, At-Large.

The other board members are: Bruce Akin, CEO, B.A.S.S.LLC; John Arway, Executive Director, Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission; Louis Chemi, Chief Operating Officer, Freedom Boat Club; Thom Dammrich, President, National Marine Manufacturers Association; Dan Ferris, Publisher, Midwest Outdoors; Carl Liederman, President, Capt. Harry’s Fishing Supply Co., Inc.; Dan McDonald, President, Yakima Bait Company, Jeff Pontius (retired), ZEBCO Brands; and Jesse Simpkins, Director of Marketing, St. Croix Rods.

The board’s ex-officio members are: Neil Eibeler, CEO, Pure Fishing, Inc., Carey Graves, Vice President of Sales, Daiwa Corporation; Kenneth Hammond, CEO, The Hammond Group; and Phil Lillo, Owner/CEO, Don Coffey Company.